Plantations in Ulster, 1600-41 Exhibition to mark 400th anniversary of Derry Walls

Date published: 05 April 2019

To mark the 400th anniversary of the Derry Walls, the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland (PRONI), is launching a new exhibition showcasing some of the oldest documents and images from the period.

The exhibition has been produced in conjunction with the Department for Communities Historic Environment Division and draws from the resources of the National Monuments and Buildings Record for Northern Ireland. The exhibition explores many aspects of the plantation which transformed Ulster in the early 17th century.

Plantations in Ulster will be launched by Dr Michael Willis, Director of PRONI with the keynote address from Ian Montgomery who will also curate the exhibition.

The exhibition is based on an earlier PRONI resource Plantations in Ulster, 1600-41: A collection of Documents which was first published in 1975 and edited by the late R.J. Hunter. A new and revised version was published in 2018 by the Ulster Historic Foundation and which is now available electronically on nidirect.

PRONI’s exhibition will run from 5 April until the end of May. To find out more about the exhibition and where it will be in the forthcoming months, follow PRONI on Facebook.

Notes to editors: 

  1. PRONI is at 2 Titanic Boulevard, Titanic Quarter, Belfast.  For details on opening hours, visit the nidirect website  or call 028 90 534800. 
  2. An online version of Plantations in Ulster, 1600-41 A collection of Documents will be available at nidirect website
  3. For media enquiries please contact the DfC Press Office on 028 9082 3509 or email: press.office@communities-ni.gov.uk. For out of hours please contact the Duty Press Officer via pager number on 028 9037 8110.
  4. Follow the Department on Twitter @CommunitiesNI

Share this page

Back to top