Appointments to the Board of Libraries NI

Date published: 24 March 2017

After an open competition, the following Councillor Members have been appointed to the Board of Libraries NI:

  • Alderman William Leathem
  • Councillor Donal Lyons
  • Councillor Billy Webb MBE JP

All appointments took effect from 1 March 2017 and will be in place until the next council elections.

Notes to editors: 

  1. The primary duty of the Northern Ireland Library Authority (known as Libraries NI), as set down in the Libraries Act (Northern Ireland) 2008, is to provide a comprehensive and efficient public library service for persons living, working or studying in Northern Ireland.
  2. The Councillor Member position attracts remuneration of £3,000 per annum, plus travel and subsistence allowances in line with Northern Ireland Civil Service rates. This post will require a commitment of at least 15 days per year.
  3. The appointment has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland Code of Practice.
  4. All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, the Commissioner for Public Appointments for Northern Ireland requires the political activity of appointees to be published.
  5. Biographical details of Councillor Members:

    Councillor Donal Lyons
    Cllr Lyons is Director of the South Belfast Partnership Board and a National Director of Event Bar and Catering, a not for profit socially focused enterprise. Within Belfast City Council, he has served on a range of committees including the People and Communities Committee. He has also served on the Boards of a number of organisations such as the Human Rights Consortium. Cllr Lyons brings financial management and understanding skills to the body. He has been engaged in political activity for the Social Democratic and Labour Party in the last five years.

    Councillor Billy Webb MBE JP
    Cllr Webb serves on the Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council (ANBC), formerly the Newtownabbey Borough Council. He is the Vice-Chair of the ANBC Planning Committee and sits on the Policy and Governance Committee. He is the former Chair, and current Vice-President, of the NI Hospice, former Chair, and current Vice-Chair, or a Neighbourhood Renewal Partnership and Chair of the Audit Committee of a Housing Association charity. He serves as a Member of the NI Rent Assessment Panel and is a Member of the Drainage Council for which he only receives expenses only. He was formerly employed by HMRC. Cllr Webb brings a range of skills and experience relating to strategy and financial understanding to the Board. He has been engaged in political activity for the Alliance Party in the last five years.

    Alderman William Leathem
    Ald Leathem has been an elected Councillor since 2005 for Lisburn City Council and latterly for Lisburn and Castlereagh City Council (LCCC), and is a previous Board Member of the Ulster-Scots Agency. Within LCCC, he has served as Chairman of the Governance and Audit Committee and the Strategic Community Planning Partnership. As a former Mayor and Deputy Mayor, Cllr Leathem brings team working skills and governance experience to the Libraries NI Board. He has been engaged in political activity for the Democratic Unionist Party in the last five years and holds no other public appointments.  

  6. Follow us on Twitter @CommunitiesNI
  7. Media enquires to DfC Press Office on 028 9082 3504. Out of office hours, please contact the Duty Press Office via pager number 07623 974 383 and your call will be returned.

Share this page

Back to top